Gaming rundown

I’m just starting this blog today, so before I post new things I’m going to post a rundown in each category to summarize where I am right now and some basic information for all of you. This is my Geekery rundown, covering the various elements of role-playing, gaming, and other related topics that I’m interested in.

Computer Gaming

I play a few computer games. I used to play a great deal more, but as of the release of the Playstation 2 I more or less stopped console gaming. My computer gaming is mostly limited to a half dozen games, though I do occasionally branch out. The games are:

  • World of Warcraft: I play mostly Alliance on the Galakrond server with my wife and friends. I play the character Verdantia, Nyxiatrix and Tyrianos. I’ve not played very much in the last two months or so.
  • Guild Wars II: I play on Eredon Terrace with my wife, who shares the same account. I play Feldros Immolaun, Gwynedd Versaliae, and Lastranata Kvaldir. She plays Vahelda.
  • Diablo III: I play this occasionally, though honestly I don’t remember my own character’s name right now. Laura, my wife, plays more than I do. I play a Barbarian and a Demon Hunter; Laura plays a Sorceress and a Witch Doctor.
  • Starcraft II: I also very occasionally play this, mostly on my own. I also really like to blatantly cheat in this game, so know I’m not by any measure a pro player. I was pretty good at the original, though. I tend to prefer Protoss, if you’re wondering.

Tabletop Role-playing Games

I play in and run a few different tabletop RPGs. They are:

  • Dungeons & Dragons, 4th edition: I play in one game and run another. The game I play in is run by Laura, my wife, and is set in the Forgotten Realms, on both Faerun and Abeir. I run a game set in Dark Sun, in the Tyr region of Athas.
  • Mage: the Awakening: Until recently, I ran a Mage: the Awakening game called “Of Men and Monsters”. I put it on hold because I found I was stretched a bit thin, and wasn’t focusing my effort properly. I’ve previously played basically the entire new and old World of Darkness lines, and was previously a member of the Camarilla Fan Club.
  • Numenera: I just recently borrowed this game from my friend Colin, and I’m already thinking about running a game. It looks really, really neat. I can’t say much more yet, though, because I’ve not read through it entirely yet.
  • The Dresden Files RPG: Jim Butcher’s series “The Dresden Files” has been turned into a (thoroughly enjoyable) game of the same name. I ran a chronicle in this system for a year before my surgery, and I really enjoyed it. I’d like to get back to playing it. This will probably be tied to getting a new house closer to town.
  • Alera Nova: Jim Butcher wrote another series, “The Codex Alera” that was never turned into an RPG. It would make a really, really fun RPG though, so I took it upon myself to make an RPG to tell stories in this universe. You can find what I’ve written so far at: Obsidian Portal
  • Homebrew system: I honestly don’t remember the name, but my friend Lukas has designed a role-playing game of his own that he’s playtesting right now with out help. It’s fun so far. We’ve uncovered a few balance problems so far, but that’s only natural and they’ve been fixed, so I guess now we’re just waiting to find the next big thing and then fix that.

Live-Action Role-playing Games

There are only two Live-action Role-playing games (LARPs) that I’ve been thinking about recently. They are:

  • Dystopia Rising: Recently, Laura and I have been trying to find time and opportunity to play in this game. The past few months have been tough, we’ve had schedule conflicts with the one game (Bravo) that we were interested in joining. It’s basically a dystopian, post-apocalyptic zombie LARP, using boffer rules. If any of those words don’t make sense to you, feel free to leave a comment and ask for clarification.
  • The Dresden Files: This is something I’ve wanted for a while, but which does not actually exist yet. The world of the Dresden Files is perfect for a LARP – well-developed, multi-faceted, and morally ambiguous. The rules would only require a small alteration from the Tabletop version of the game – a change in the dice system, clarification on Aspects, and some additional Downtime Trappings for some Skills – and would all be additive, since the rules are already beautiful for a LARP setting. Alas, I’ve not had time to develop this fully or get enough interest for a game either locally, abroad, or on the internet.

Other Stuff

I’ve skipped a wide swath of “geek/nerd culture” – that is, movies, TV shows, comic books, and so on. That’s kind of intentional, because if I covered it that would either be too general to be useful or too detailed to be feasible. If you want to know, feel free to ask, but I’m not going to cover it right now.

Leave a Reply

